Karin Taylor is yet Another New and Exciting Artist Proudly Supporting Mirrors

September 23, 2009 at 1:33 pm (Uncategorized)

Here is a preview of Karin's unique artist style. Her work titled Hidden Treasures will be one not to be missed at this years exhibition.

Here is a preview of Karin's unique artist style, the piece is titled Lost and Found. Herart work for Mirrors is titled Hidden Treasures and will be one not to be missed at this years exhibition.

Hidden Treasure

Golden eggs are not always easy to find

Sometimes they lay hidden in the pockets of our seams

Sometimes we have to look beyond the obvious to see

the beauty in others~ traits of kindness, compassion, nurture and

gentleness are not always obvious at first glance and

what one may perceive as a fault or weakness

may actually be a great strength.

I have been painting solidly for the past 7 years, at first it was for fun, now art is my life…it defines me, it is all that I am, and all that I aspire to be in life.  Art has helped me immeasurably through dark times and happy times…it has been the vehicle through which I learn about myself and others through introspection and the expression of that introspection is what you see…  memories from childhood illustrations in books flood my mind often and warm my heart, bringing back the fond times with my family.  You will notice I generally draw young females full of innocence and wonder, sometimes a sense of joy, other times a sense of longing or rebellion, some with haughtiness or a slight displeasure…others full of peace and contentment, some wanting to express acts of kindess and friendship.

I recently learned about the Mirrors Exhibition and The Butterfly Foundation through a friend and became interested.  I am pleased to be contributing my work “Hidden Treasure” for the first time.  In the painting I explored the use of mixed media enjoying the process of adding pieces of gingham fabric and golden thread to it that seemed to represent parts of me and my life, my early life spent out in the western township of Tottenham with the chooks.  I used the painting to explore my inner world, the child I was, through the understanding I have of my childhood with adult eyes.  I learned to love and embrace the little child within throughout the process.  My golden eggs represent special gifts and traits I recognise in myself.  This has very much been a look in the mirror.  I hope the audience finds themselves drawn to this little girl and hope that she will ultimately win their hearts and help others to find love for themselves as a child also, which was something I very much struggled with.

Thank you to the organisers of the exhibition for accepting my artwork this year, it is indeed an honour to partake.

Karin Taylor

Leave a Reply

